new perspective on abundance

Standard

Hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  I use the word “blessing” a lot, but it truly is a blessing to be able to share a special day with family and friends, eat abundantly, be in a warm house, watch football (or at least watch your husband watch football…), play on the iPad, go back for seconds….I could go on and on.

But what if you had none of this?

Yesterday on a last minute trip to the grocery store, I was just looking around in amazement.

Fresh veggies and fruits….

Aisles and aisles of everything else…

SO MUCH FOOD.  Right at my disposal.

No hunting or gathering.  No sowing or harvesting.  No bartering with my neighbor.  No hoping a rescue plane will drop grains on my village.  No searching for clean water.  No physical labor.

It’s just there.  On a shelf.  Waiting for me to put it in my cart.

So the next time you go to the grocery store, or the fridge, or the kitchen cabinet, just a gentle reminder of how blessed we are and how meaningful it is to give a little prayer of gratitude.

And speaking of gratitude…

Leave a comment